Cars Vandalized Overnight in RPNA

 

vandalism43[1]

WKYT_Station+Logo[1]

LEXINGTON, Ky., (WKYT)- Clarence Franklin’s lived off Armstrong Mill Road in Lexington for more than 40 years.

He’s surprised his car and a handful of others were damaged Thursday.

Along with the slashed tires were threatening words written on a utility pole.

“Love you, kill you, all that right on the pole,” said Franklin. “Nobody’s ever been this angry.”

Franklin doesn’t know where this is coming from.

But, with recent events in the news like the murder of police officers and the killings of black men at traffic stops, he has his theories as to what’s sparked this displaced anger.

“I don’t know if they’re angry at the police or are angry at us,” he said. “It’s not a color thing because I’m black, they’re white.”

He says teens run out in the street here all the time and suspects they’re behind the destruction of property.

“I’m just thankful I didn’t see them. If I had I’d probably be in jail. I’d probably be in jail because I’d hurt somebody if I saw them punching someone’s tire. It’s just so …. useless.”

“I don’t know why people are so angry. There’s good and bad in everybody.”

 A woman also reported to police her tires slashed on Elm Tree Lane this week.
